The IEREST consortium

The project partners are six European Higher Education Institutions. All partners are involved in Erasmus mobility, internationalisation, intercultural communication, intercultural foreign language education, and open education. Therefore, the consortium partners have enough complementary expertise to guarantees multi-faceted perspectives in addressing Erasmus mobility; this in particular allows an open approach when considering the question of how best to enable Erasmus students to draw meaningful, life-enriching lessons from their cultural experiences.

There are three associate partners, AEGEE-Europe, AEDE-Hungary, and T.M.Kempen, which respectively represent the project main target groups: students, teachers, and higher education institutions and their international/Erasmus offices.

Title City, Country Role Staff & contacts
Università di Bologna Bologna, Italy Coordinator
  • Luisa Bavieri
  • Ana Beaven - Project Coordinator
  • Claudia Borghetti - Project Manager
  • Paola Cassone
  • Francesco Girotti
  • Lucia Livatino
  • Alessia Marchi
  • Rosa Pugliese
University of Leuven Leuven, Belgium Partner
  • Lut Baten
  • Roger Janssens
  • Jan Van Maele
  • Basil Vassilicos
  • Maryam Asoodar (September 2013 - July 2014)
  • Veerle Hompes (from September 2014)
Durham University Durham City, United Kingdom Partner
  • Prue Holmes
  • Sara Ganassin (from March 2014)
  • Jonathon Murphy (from September 2014)
  • Nicola Savvides (until January 2014)
Université de Savoie Chambéry, France Partner
  • John Osborne
University of Primorska Koper, Slovenia Partner
  • Neva Čebron
  • Nives Zudič Antonič
  • Alenka Janko Spreizer
  • Jasna Zorko


Thomas More Kempen Geel, Belgium Associated partner
  • Inge Vervoort
AEGEE Brussels, Belgium Associated partner
  • Miguel Gallardo
AEDE-Hungary Veszprém, Hungary Associated partner
  • Irina Golubeva
The Open University Milton Keynes, United Kingdom Partner until April 2015
  • Chris Valentine
  • Damian Dadswell
  • Harriet Cornish
  • Jane Whild